HS Science Olympiad

On a cold winter day in February, twenty-nine Springville students braved the weather to compete In the Regional Science Olympiad at the Buffalo State College Science and Technology Complex. Science Olympiad is a perfect example of the STEM curriculum. Students compete in events that include building a mousetrap car, a Rube Goldberg device, Anatomy and Physiology, Forensics, Thermodynamics, and Chemistry Lab. The events include hands on testing, the scientific method and traditional academic tests.

This year we were represented by two teams and brought home 20 medals. The following team members received the following: Anatomy and Physiology Austin Schunke and Jeremy Baker sixth, Grace Gernatt and Lauren Pukay placed tenth. In Astronomy , Sam Gorski and Sadie Olrogg placed seventh. In Chemistry Lab, Austin Schunke and Amy Stabell placed fourth. In Disease detectives, Lauren Pukay and Grace Gernatt placed fifth. In Ecology, Mary Snyder and Beth Schneider placed fourth. In Experimental Design, Henry Domst, Mike Sabota, and Dan Gernatt placed eigth , Austin Schunke, Jeremy Baker, and Wyatt Cudney placed tenth. In Forensics, Sydney Emeley and McKenzie Galvin placed fourth. In Herpetology, Liz Sutton and Wyatt Cudney placed third. In Hovercraft, Billy Snyder and Jeremy Baker placed ninth .In Materials Science , Sam Gorski and Sadie Olrogg placed ninth. In Mission Possible, Henry Domst, Blaze Schelble and Aedan Smith placed tenth. In Optics, Sam Krebs and Wyatt Cudney placed eigth. In Remote Sensing, Sydney Emeley and Sam Krebs placed eigth and Grace Gernatt and Lauren Pukay placed seventh. In Rocks, Dan Gernatt and Blaze Schelble placed tenth. In Tower building, Beth Schneider and Mary Snyder placed second. In Write it Do it, Sam Krebs and Paul Raymond placed eleventh.

There were 33 schools that competed this year. Both teams placed in the top ten. The Gold team placed sixth and the Purple team placed ninth alongside schools such as Williamsville, St. Joe’s, Nichols and Canisius. Springville Rocks!! Congratulations to our teams and their coaches; Mrs. Reinhold Gibson, Mrs. Cott, Mrs. Wagner, Mrs. Chilson and Mr. Shelley. A special thanks to Ms. Kemmerer.